Ubuntu Rocks (call it ubuntued)

January 10, 2007

I recently bought a Dell laptop for one of my team member for J2EE development. We got a new and shiny laptop delivered promptly on-time by Dell. But the big surprise is when we booted it: Out of 1G ram, the pre-installed gloat-ware took almost 700-800Meg of RAM.

Obviously the remaining 200Meg is not enough for my team member to do any kind of development. He had to use MySQL, Ecplise, JBoss and quite a few other tools. As a result, he decided to clean the gloat-ware. After spending 2 hrs, we were able to bring down the used memory to 350Meg. I was ok and quite happy with it. However, my team member was not happy with it and asked my permission to try Ubuntu. All his friends are big Ubuntu fans. I was little apprehensive about it in the beginning, but gave the go ahead – My thought was… it is a brand new laptop and if needed windows can be reinstalled quickly.

Now the interesting part — I didn’t see my team member for two days as I was travelling. But when I saw him the next-time, I could see this huge smile on his face. Initially I was little skeptical, but was blown away by his demo. Everything worked except the Wifi, which is ok since wifi is not allowed in our workspace.

Now my Ubuntued (I would like to claim ownership to this word invention!!) team member is in the process of converting his co-workers.

I will write more about Ubuntu and our experience in the upcoming days.

5 Responses to “Ubuntu Rocks (call it ubuntued)”

  1. steve Says:

    Great news – congratulations and welcome to the ubuntu world. Looking forward to hear more details on your ubuntu experience.

  2. Jose Says:

    Call me crazy, but what kind of “pre-installed gloat-ware” are you talking about???? I have several Dell laptops, all of them used about 270 Mb of RAM after the first boot with Firewall and Norton Security Center running. Mine were standard Dell factory configurations. 700-800 Mb seems to be way too extreme.

  3. peter Says:

    Jose- I have heard lot of complaints about new computers pre-installed with boatload of crap, especially if you buy as a consumer from any of the leading computer manufacturers. This is an easy way for the Dell, HPs, Gateways etc to make some money.

  4. Jose Says:

    Peter,
    people will complain about everything no matter what. 🙂
    My Dell PC was purchased through consumer channel too. And it has gloat-ware. But just pause and think about it for a moment, it would take a big “boatload of crap” to occupy 800 Mb of RAM. Up to 80% of your RAM is occupied even before you started any of your applications. 😦

  5. Suzy Says:

    I have been using Linux for over 5 years. The distros that I currently use are Slack 10 DSL 3.3 And last week I tried Ubuntu and Kubuntu on two Dell Optiplex desktops. The first one has Pentium 4 800MHZ 2 gb mem

    First one is Optiplex 320 Pentium 4 800 MHZ 2 GB MEM and ther other is a low end Dell Optiplex Pentium 3 255mb mem. A day later both of them kept constanly writing to swap causing both computers slow down and stop
    responding to where I had to push the rest button. My
    monitor is just a old Digiview 17 inch but Ubuntu
    Identified as a touch screen and loaded the wrong drivers and my monitor all most fried.


Leave a comment